The Hague Institute for Global Justice and The Stimson Center are pleased to acknowledge the contributions made by the Bertelsmann Foundation, the Carnegie Foundation at the Peace Palace, the Embassy of the Netherlands to the United States, the International Peace Institute, the Municipality of The Hague, the Observer Research Foundation (India), the Permanent Missions of Brazil, Germany, Japan, Nigeria, and The Netherlands to the United Nations, and the President Woodrow Wilson House. We wish to thank the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (FES) for thematic support—in particular from Michèle Augua, Sara Burke, and Volker Lehman from FES New York—as well as for in-kind assistance at various stages of the Commission’s work.

We also wish to thank the following reviewers of parts of the Report: (alphabetical order) Kuniko Ashizawa, Robert Berg, Sara Burke, Richard Caplan, Simon Chesterman, Stephen Gardiner, Harris Gleckman, Lise Howard, Ian Johnstone, Mary Kaldor, Georgios Kostakos, Don Krause, Melissa Labonte, Peter Middlebrook, David Mittler, Milton Mueller, Craig Murphy, Ted Newman, Vesselin Popovski, Stephen Schlesinger, Peter Stoett, Ramesh Thakur, and Paul Williams, as well as the following e-consultation special guest facilitators: Elko Brummelman, Sara Burke, Harris Gleckman, Peter Middlebrook, Natalie Palmer, Peter Stoett, and Ian Wallace. We wish to also thank Jessica Tsang and Ameya Naik, students from The Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy, for their valuable research assistance.

Project Leaders

Richard Ponzio, Project Director
William Durch, Director of Research
Marie-Laure Poiré, Production and Outreach Coordinator
Joris Larik, Senior Researcher

Project Associates

Manuella Appiah
Mark Bailey
Tom Buitelaar
Tina Cakar
Erin Jackson
Sash Jayawardane
Ricky Passarelli
Manon Tiessink


Hasan Aloul
Jim Baird
Greg Lachapelle
Lita Ledesma
Suzan Maxwell
Tommaso Ripani
Erwin Tuil
Petya Yankova

Background Paper Authors

Najam Abbas
Sunil Abraham
Eamon Aloyo
Sarah Bosha
Elko Brummelman
Luis Cabrera
David Connolly
Jill Coster van Voorhout
Cedric de Coning
Nikola Dimitrov
Patrick Huntjens
Ian Johnstone
Volker Lehmann
Xiaodon Liang

David Michel
Anja Mihr
Katharina Nachbar
Edward Newman
Vesselin Popovski
Sofía Sebastían
Chandra Sriram
Carsten Stahn
Peter Stoett
Necla Tschirgi
Paul van der Heijden
Menno van der Veen
Jan Wouters
Gabriella Zoia

Sub Pages